We don’t need to define Robbery & Theft for you. You already know what it is. The fundamental difference is Robbery is about people, Theft is about property.
Robbery gets kicked up to Aggravated Robbery if the accused used or displayed a deadly weapon, if the victim was threatened, was 65+ years old or was a disabled person.
Defenses to Robbery & Theft charges include:
Robbery is a second degree felony in Texas with a penalty of 2-20 years in state prison and/or a fine of no more than $10,000. Aggravated Robbery is a first degree felony, with 5 to 99 years in state prison and/or a fine of no more than $10,000.
Texas theft / larceny charges range from a “Class C” misdemeanor for the most minor of thefts, all the way up to a first degree felony for the most serious.
These guidelines categorize varying degrees of theft based on the amount or value of property taken:
Penalties can vary on the amount or value of property stolen, but can also get bumped up if the accused is a public servant or has a contract with the government.
With a confidential consultation, Jarvis Law Firm can evaluate your Robbery/Theft case and find the strongest possible defense for you.